Best Reishi Supplement UK: Capsules or Tincture?
The short answer
- The best reishi supplement in the UK for you starts with the format: capsules or a tincture. Reishi is hard and woody, so it isn't cooked like other mushrooms.
- On any label, look for Ganoderma named as the species, fruiting body or mycelium stated, an extract with a clear serving, and the other ingredients listed.
- Our capsules cost less per serving than our tincture (67p vs £1.33) and are swallowed whole; the tincture is measured with a pipette and can be stirred into a drink.
- Ours: Reishi Capsules (60 capsules, 10:1 fruiting body extract) and Reishi Tincture (30ml, fruiting body, 2ml servings), £19.99 each, harvested in Finland and bottled in Sheffield.
About this guide: Mushroom Dispensary sells the reishi capsules and tincture discussed here. This is our own buying guide, not an independent review. Below is the method we would use to choose any reishi product, including where our own labels don't give you every answer.
Reishi has been sliced and simmered into tea in China and Japan for a very long time. As a supplement it is sold in the UK as capsules, tinctures, powders and blends, which can make products hard to compare. This guide sets out what to check, compares reishi capsules and a reishi tincture side by side, and shows what each costs per serving.
What reishi actually is
Reishi is a shelf fungus that grows on hardwood, often at the base of old oak stumps. It is easy to recognize: a hard, woody, kidney- or fan-shaped cap with a glossy, lacquered red-brown surface, a pale growing edge and pores underneath instead of gills. It is called lingzhi in Chinese.
Two details matter when you shop:
- The name on the label. Reishi is sold as Ganoderma lucidum, and you will also see Ganoderma lingzhi; the two names are used for closely related reishi species. Our label says Ganoderma lucidum. A product that only says "red mushroom" or "reishi complex" isn't telling you enough.
- It isn't cooked like other mushrooms. Reishi is hard and woody, so it is traditionally sliced and simmered as tea, and supplements use powders or extracts.

Reishi is also sold as dried slices and powder for brewing; our reishi tea guide covers those. This guide is about capsules and tinctures.
What to check on a reishi label
- Species: Ganoderma lucidum or Ganoderma lingzhi named, not just "reishi".
- Part used: fruiting body, or mycelium. Mycelium grown on grain often includes the grain in the final powder; if the label says "mycelium" or "myceliated", ask what proportion is substrate.
- Extract or raw: an extract should say so, ideally with a ratio. A ratio such as 10:1 means roughly ten parts of dried reishi went into one part of extract. Our mushroom extract explainer covers ratios and "equivalent" figures.
- Serving and servings: how many capsules or ml per serving, and how many servings per pack. This is where reishi products differ most.
- Other ingredients: reishi blended with magnesium, sage, vitamins or other mushrooms is a different product, not a stronger reishi.
- Claims: only authorized health claims may be used for foods. A reishi label that promises outcomes is a red flag.
- Who and where: a company you can contact in the UK, and a clear statement of where the reishi comes from and where the product is made.
Reishi label terms, decoded
| Term on the label | What it means |
|---|---|
| Ganoderma lucidum or G. lingzhi | The species names used for reishi; one should be on the label |
| Fruiting body | Made from the mushroom itself, the lacquered cap and stem |
| Mycelium, myceliated or full spectrum | Grown from fungal culture, often on grain; ask what proportion is grain |
| Extract | Processed to concentrate the mushroom; should be stated, ideally with a ratio |
| Ratio, for example 10:1 | Roughly how much dried reishi went into one part of extract |
| "Equivalent to" a large mg figure | A calculation from the ratio, not the amount in the capsule |
| Ground, milled or raw powder | The dried mushroom powdered, not extracted |
Reishi capsules vs reishi tincture
Both of ours use the fruiting body and both are £19.99. They differ in serving and in how far a pack goes.
| Reishi Capsules | Reishi Tincture | |
|---|---|---|
| Pack | 60 capsules, amber glass jar | 30ml alcohol-based tincture, amber glass bottle with glass pipette |
| Serving | 2 capsules | 2ml |
| Servings per pack | 30 | 15 |
| Extract | 10:1, fruiting body | Fruiting body (no ratio stated) |
| How to take | Swallow with water | Under the tongue for around 30 seconds, or stirred into a drink |
| Taste | Swallowed whole, so you don't taste the contents directly | You taste the liquid, so it is often stirred into a drink |
| Price per serving | 67p | £1.33 |
On cost alone the capsules come out ahead: the same £19.99 buys twice the servings. The tincture suits people who would rather not swallow capsules, or who prefer to add a measured serving to a drink.
Capsules or tincture: three questions
- Do you want to taste it? Capsules are swallowed whole. A tincture is a liquid you taste, either neat or stirred into a drink.
- What is your budget per serving? Our capsules work out at 67p a serving and our tincture at £1.33, because the tincture serving is 2ml and a bottle holds 15 servings. In a three under our current Buy 2, get 1 free offer, three capsule jars come to about 44p a serving.
- How often do you want to reorder? A jar of capsules is 30 servings, about a month at the labeled serving. A bottle of tincture is 15 servings, about two weeks.
If you are still unsure, the mushroom finder asks about format and budget and suggests a starting point.
Taste
Reishi has a reputation for bitterness. With capsules you swallow the contents whole. With a tincture you taste the liquid, so you may prefer to stir the serving into tea, coffee or hot chocolate rather than taking it neat. Whatever the format, take the serving on the label at a time that suits you.
Our reishi against the same checklist
| Check | Our reishi |
|---|---|
| Species named | Ganoderma lucidum on the label |
| One mushroom species | Yes; see the product label for all other ingredients |
| Part used | Fruiting body (capsules and tincture) |
| Extract ratio | 10:1 in the capsules; not stated for the tincture |
| Capsule shell | HPMC |
| Triterpene or beta-glucan percentage | Not stated on our labels |
| Tincture base | Alcohol-based |
| Where | Harvested in Finland, bottled in Sheffield, dispatched from Barnsley by Royal Mail |
| Claims | None. We describe the product; we don't promise outcomes |
Price, and Buy 2, get 1 free
Every reishi product counts toward our current Buy 2, get 1 free offer: put any three qualifying items in your cart and the lowest-priced qualifying one-time item is free, applied in the cart. It repeats for every three and mixes across species and formats. The offer is for one-time purchases: the free item is never a subscription, and discount codes don't combine with the offer. A few ways it works out:
| Your three | Full price | You pay |
|---|---|---|
| 3 x Reishi Capsules (90 servings) | £59.97 | £39.98 (44p a serving) |
| 2 x Reishi Capsules + Reishi Tincture | £59.97 | £39.98 |
| Reishi Capsules + Reishi Tincture + Lion's Mane Capsules | £59.97 | £39.98 |
Full prices on 6 October 2026. UK delivery is free from £50, and unopened items can be returned within 14 days. See the reishi collection or build your three.
Frequently asked questions
Which brand of reishi is the best?
We don't claim that any one brand is universally best, ours included. Compare on what you can check: the species named, fruiting body or mycelium, an extract with a clear serving, the other ingredients and the price per serving, from a company you can contact.
Who should avoid reishi?
If you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication or under medical care, speak to your GP or pharmacist before use; the same advice is on our labels. Don't exceed the serving on the label.
Can I buy reishi with lion's mane?
Yes; they are sold as separate products and both count toward Buy 2, get 1 free. If you are considering taking more than one supplement, follow each label and ask your GP or pharmacist where the standard cautions apply. We compare the two mushrooms in lion's mane vs reishi.
How long does a pack of reishi last?
The capsules: 60 capsules at two a day, so 30 servings, about a month. The tincture: 30ml at 2ml a day, so 15 servings, about two weeks.
What is red reishi?
"Red reishi" usually refers to the glossy red-brown Ganoderma sold as reishi or lingzhi. Other colors are sometimes sold under the reishi name, which is another reason to look for the Latin name on the label.
Not sure reishi is the one for you? Try the mushroom finder, or read our guide to the best mushroom supplements in the UK. You can read how we work on our story page.
Food supplements should not be used as a substitute for a varied, balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle. Do not exceed the recommended daily dose. Keep out of reach of children. If you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication or under medical care, speak to your GP or pharmacist before use.